11-13 Nov 2022
Weekender Minehead
Buy Tickets

Shiiine On

Newsletter Sign Up


    The Orchids announce ‘Who Needs Tomorrow’. A 30 year retrospective

    Formed in Glasgow in 1986, the acclaimed indie band The Orchids recorded a string of now highly sought after singles, and three acclaimed full length releases, Lyceum (1989), Unholy Soul (1991) and Striving For The Lazy Perfection (1994) for the cult independent label Sarah Records. Following a split in 1995 at what some perceive to be the height of their career, the band reformed in 2004, subsequently putting out three further highly regarded albums – Good to be a Stranger (2007), The Lost Star (2010) and Beatitude #9 (2014).

    To celebrate their 30 year anniversary, Cherry Red have worked together with the band to create this 2CD package containing the best of The Orchids’ previous material, plus a full CD dedicated to the band’s rare and unreleased tracks. The set includes demos, alternative acoustic versions, radio performances, flexi disc singles, a cover version, and an old EP favourite – Underneath The Window, Underneath The Sink – specially re-recorded just for this release, all selected and fully overseen by the band members themselves.

    The collection represents the recording career of The Orchids since their first physical release in August 1987. Present are 38 songs recorded in 11 different locations on 2CDs and featuring 4 different line-ups of the band. Although The Orchids, in all of their different line ups, have always been seen as a five piece ensemble, this collection features 19 musicians in all.

    Whole package fully remastered, with previously unreleased material sourced direct from The Orchids’ collection of past recordings and includes booklet containing background and recording information related to every one of the included tracks, plus liner notes/revealing insights from ex-BBC radio DJ John Cavanagh and The Orchids’ producer and ex-One Dove band member Ian Carmichael.

    Track List:

    1. Apologies
    2. Defy The Law
    3. What Will We Do Next
    4. It’s Only Obvious
    5. Caveman
    6. Something For The Longing
    7. Long Drawn Sunday Night
    8. Peaches
    9. Bemused, Confused And Bedraggled
    10. Thaumaturgy
    11. Obsession #1
    12. A Kind Of Eden
    13. Striving For The Lazy Perfection
    14. Another Saturday Night
    15. She’s My Girl
    16. The Girl And The Soldier
    17. The Way That You Move
    18. Hey! Sometimes
    19. Something’s Going On
    20. We Made A Mess

    1. From This Day
    2. My Sacred Hour (Demo)
    3. It’s Only Obvious (Acoustic Version)
    4. Whitley Bay (Demo)
    5. And When I Wake Up (Demo)
    6. This Patience Is Mine (Demo)
    7. Welcome To My Curious Heart (Acoustic Version With Pauline Hynds)
    8. You Could Do Something To Me (Acoustic Version)
    9. Magic In Here
    10. The Lost Star
    11. Les Spectacles De La Foire (Demo)
    12. Placa San Sebastián
    13. I Just Don’t Care
    14. And I Paint A Picture (Demo)
    15. One Last Cigarette (Demo)
    16. Under Clouds, Under Stars, Under A Lens, Under Cars (Demo)
    17. Ooh Wee!
    18. Underneath The Window, Underneath The Sink (2017 Version)